Tomato soup

soupe tomate

It’s not just because of the weather. These toxic presidential elections are to blame, too. I am anxious, angry, frustrated, desperate, and it is not constructive. So I keep doing what I do best (except sleeping and breathing): cooking. Rhubarb crumbles, the ultimate spring comfort food. Soups, because it’s always my favorite at the end of the day (literally). This soup is […]

Simple, sugar-free cookies

Hello everyone! Today’s recipe is very simple, yet effective. These sugar-free cookies are packed with goodness, and contain only 2 ingredients: banana and rolled oats (or any rolled grain you fancy). Starting with this simple base, you can add any ingredient you like. They take 5 minutes to make and 20 minutes to bake. Easy, right?

The simplest oat porridge

Hello ! Since the last post, I got old. I had a bike accident, when a distracted car driver hit me. One second after thinking “I’m going to die”, I was found sitting on my buttocks on the pavement. Miraculously intact. Since then, I feel fragile, vulnerable, reasonable, whereas before, I was invincible, carefree, indestructible. I now […]

My favourite smoothie

… Hello everyone ! I haven’t published a smoothie recipe in a long while. The truth is, for over a year, I have been faithful to one single smoothie. I had created it for a friend’s good-bye party, as he was leaving Zürich. I liked that smoothie so much that I have made it every morning since then. Of course, with […]

Golden milk

Happy New Year everyone ! Who hasn’t heard of golden milk? Sometimes called turmeric latte, it is known as Kurkuma latte where I live. This “detox” turmeric drink, with its Ayurvedic roots, is like a liquid version of the avocado toast: The hipster sensation that took over the world and Instagram. Minus the ecological disaster.

Preserved lemons

Hello everyone ! So far, we have made kimchi, fermented beets and oat yoghurt. Let us now preserve some lemons. Lacto-fermented or preserved lemons are the same thing. Like all fermentations using lactic bacteria, the process takes some time. Be patient but, I promise, it’s very easy. I have hardly altered the recipes I found on the internet, only to simplify […]

Truffes haricot-chocolat

Ah, les first-world problems. Jongler avec une thèse, l’écriture et la photographie d’un livre de recettes et un blog. Avoir l’impression de naviguer à vue dans le grand océan déchaîné de la vie. Voir un misogyne climato-sceptique devenir président des Etats-Unis. Recevoir une facture de 500 euros pour un check-up chez le gynécologue (bienvenue en Suisse). Griller un feu rouge […]

Agriculture biologique : pourquoi tant de haine ?

… Bonjour à tous ! Aujourd’hui, la parole est à mon amie Louise Browaeys, personnellement et professionnellement impliquée dans l’agriculture biologique. Fille d’horticulteurs, ingénieur agronome, elle fait partie du Synabio, le syndicat national des entreprises bio. Louise connaît la réglementation sur le bout des doigts et est proche des entreprises bio françaises. Vous l’aviez déjà rencontré ici et là. Alors que les […]

Lait d’or

lait_or_azur

Bonne année à tous ! Qui n’a pas entendu parler du lait d’or, aussi appelé turmeric latte ou golden milk par les anglo-saxons, Kurkuma latte par nos amis germaniques ou leche dorada par les hispanophones ? Cette boisson réputée « détox » au curcuma, dont on ne cesse de rappeler les racines ayurvédiques, c’est un peu le toast à l’avocat version boisson : […]

Comment comprendre la nutrition si l’on n’y connaît rien ?

Bonjour à tous. J’ai profité de quelques jours de vacances à Noël pour m’atteler à la rédaction de quelques articles « de fond ». Depuis le début de ma thèse, j’ai eu beaucoup moins de temps pour aborder ici les sujets, toujours nombreux, qui m’intéressent et qui pourraient vous intéresser aussi. Tout est dans le titre du billet : […]

Entremets marrons, poires et panais + Aquafaba, oeufs etc…

entremets_poire_panais_marron_5

Il ne faut jamais dire jamais ! Je m’étais juré de ne jamais utiliser l’astuce de l’aquafaba. Vous savez, ce jus un peu gluant dans les conserves de pois chiches qui se transforme en neige mousseuse lorsqu’on le fouette. L’idée d’intégrer ce liquide à mes desserts ne me tentait guère. J’ai pourtant craqué en pensant à la légèreté que […]